McDude's Kind of Cool

Elevator Phobia

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-02-25 - 4:34 p.m.

I was walking through the halls of my office building today when all of a sudden an elevator door opened as I approached it. No one was waiting to board the elevator and no on was on board either. How unusual it was to see an elevator door open unprovoked. I envisioned an invisible man exiting the elevator or possibly an advanced alien with an invisible cloaking device. It was probably just a technical glitch but whatever it was freaked me out.

I have a slight phobia of dropping my keys or wallet down the crack between the elevator and floor. I have similar phobia involving dropping items into the sewer when walking down the sidewalk. I envision walking out of the elevator and my pockets will explode. My keys won�t fall into the crack instantly. It will dangle there filling me with hope that I can still avoid the disaster I�ve always feared. I�ll hastily reach down to grab them however the shifting of my weight causes my keys to fall just before I try to grab them.

I�m sure elevator maintenance men find all sorts of interesting things at the bottom of elevator shafts. Torn up love letters, grocery bags, coins, and prophylactics or maybe some of those tickets you can win at the arcade. If someone ventured into the sewers they�d probably find even more interesting items.

If we allowed evolution to go unchecked eventually species of rats would evolve to eat our waste that ends up in the sewers and elevator cracks. They would be extremely specialized to. For instance one species of rat would only eat discarded lipstick and Chap Stick dispensers.


Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!