McDude's Kind of Cool

What Shall I do ?

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-03-01 - 4:47 p.m.

My cute female Russian friend visited me at my cube today. �What�s new?� I asked.
�Nothings new, just getting some candy.�
�Oh, I�m going to a rock concert tonight, do you rock n roll?�
�I�m to old to �Rock and Roll�, I just want to sleep all day,� she said
�Time for a PTO day. Get a hotel room and sleep.�
�I�m thinking about it. I�m going back to my cube to keep quiet.�
That was a weird visit. Maybe she wanted me to take a PTO day with her at a hotel room. An affair with me would only stand to make her feel worse, though I would be flattered.

I have a meeting with the subject �Job Postings� on Thursday. Thankfully, my entire team was invited, because it would freak me out if I were the only one invited. I worry that they will give us a deadline to find a new project. I worry that Thursday may be the deadline to find a new project. I can picture walking into the meeting room to find a bunch of moving boxes. My area leader will be there and instruct us to grab a severance package folder and a box, pack up your desk and have a nice life.

Probably more realistically we�ll be told to start pursuing job postings more aggressively because my bosses can�t guarantee how long they�ll be able to keep us in our current rolls. I�ve scrolled through the various postings a million times. Each posting wants someone like Einstein. You need 5 years of experience in tons of major fields. Unfortunately I have two years of experience in two unneeded development languages.

I�ve been doing a lot of soul searching about what I want to do for a living. Working for the man doesn�t seem like the path to happiness. When I was in college my aspirations involved getting a nice steady job with a middle-income salary and a solid benefits package. This kind of work isn�t going to change the solve world hungry, or bring peace in the Middle East. What it does is provide a safe environment for someone to raise children. I�m not ready for children. So why do I have a job for them? I need a job that involves challenges and problem solving involving real world issues.

What jobs are right for me? I�ve thought about becoming a Lawyer, Astronomer, Physicist, and Geneticist. I�ve also contemplated Real Estate maybe buying some rental properties and managing them. Writing and story telling is probably not my forte but writing for a living would be cool.

I�ve decided that Grad school would be my best option. Law school would be a bit much. I could go back to study the sciences. More specifically I would study Astronomy or Genetics as I have a great interest in these fields. However my safe side thinks getting an advanced business degree would be beneficial. Project management is a something I could excel in.

My days as an IT professional appear to be numbered. Unless of course I get on a project that is enjoyable or find another job that is more enjoyable. I enjoy writing programs and developing systems. Unfortunately the majority of the work is paper work. For every line of code there is ten lines of documentation. I figure that is about 9 lines to many. Plus I suck at kissing people with seniorities buts. I tend to give the facts without spin. I�ll jump onto another area�s side of a debate if they appear right. I stink at the water cooler conversations. �How was little Johnny�s soccer game? Oh you�ve done such a wonderful job raising your son. Of course with your superb genetics it must be a breeze.� I�d better stop before my nose starts to smell.

The worst part of the year is over. Today is March 1st and things can only get better from here. I�m going to start counting January and February as purgatory, limbo months since nothing important happens. My new years celebration will be on March 1st. I�m starting this tradition tonight by attending the Futureheads show at the double door.
�You thought that I was joking
When I said that you were a moron
When I said I was smiling
So you�d think that I was joking.�
Meanwhile, The Futureheads

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!