McDude's Kind of Cool

Vanilla Sky is a good movie Damn It

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-12-16 - 3:05 p.m.

I saw Vanilla Sky last night. The movie was very entertaining. It kept me guessing until the end where it explained what was really happening during the entire movie. In my opinion the movie had great dialogue and a decent plot.

After the movie I waited outside the women�s restroom for my girlfriend to come out. All of the viewers of Vanilla Sky exited the theatre and had to walk by be to exit the building. I couldn�t believe some of the conversation snippets I heard.

�That was the worst movie I have ever scene,� proclaimed one lady. �Tom Cruise hasn�t made a good movie since Born on the 4th of July.�

�I had no clue what happened,� Said another man.

�It was weird like Pulp Fiction,� said a teenager.

�Did you follow it?� a girlfriend asked her lover.

I heard many more statements to that degree. My ability to hold back my thoughts became endangered. I wanted to rant about cookie cutter plots and why movies should never use test audiences. No wonder the typical movie is so laid out for us like a four piece jigsaw puzzle. So people with no ability for thought can follow it.

Maybe I am too old for most movies. Good Guy meets Good Girl. They fall in love. Some bad force comes between the couple and the guy has to overcome adversity to win his love back. The good guy always wins his love back. No matter how impossible the odds are against the good guy. The bad force becomes overly incompetent 10 minutes before the end of the movie and all live happily ever after.

Who do we blame for this structure? Shakespeare? Pop movies are like pop music. Nearly all songs on popular radio use the blues for the chord progressions. So I suppose it only makes sense that all pop movies should use the same Shakespearean plot. Music has the Bo Didley beat maybe movies need the McDude plot?

Vanilla Sky is a nice break from a typical pop movie. Go see it.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!