McDude's Kind of Cool

Pillowcase Fortress on the Unemployment Worry Hill.

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-12-11 - 9:58 p.m.

I was not feeling the best yesterday. Nothing is worse then the feeling of wasted time. My illness yesterday only proves that you want things most when you know you can�t obtain them. I felt a desperate need to both write and read yesterday. But I couldn�t do either because my eyes burned and my head ached.

Now I am desperately seeking job security. Layoffs are imminent and now I spend time fantasizing about searching for a job. I just hope my next job search is much easier than my last one. I suck at interviewing. If I could sell myself I�d be a marketing agent. Competing and fighting for a job sucked when the economy was good. Now we are in a recession. But now I will have nearly 2 years of experience under my belt.

If I do lose my job I wonder if I will seize the opportunity to change careers, or find another job in my field? Maybe I could win the lottery. Maybe I could go to school to become a teacher. Maybe I could write. Maybe I could be a musician. Maybe I could�

Every time I spend money on myself for fun thoughts run through my mind wondering if it is a wise investment. Should you buy that? You might lose your job and need that money for food. If you buy that donut you�ll be homeless after you lose your job. I need to hoard my money in a pillowcase. Poverty can�t get me. I�ll shield it off with my pillowcase of money. When I die of old age they will find me in a fortress of pillowcases filled with 20�s, 50�s, and 100�s.

I should feel fortunate. I am young, able bodied, and educated. Emotionally stable and doing fine. Worrying never prevented anything from happening. I just need to be prepared for when it happens. Press the suit, update the resume, and practice answers for those dreaded interview questions. �McDude, describe your best attribute?� �Well sir, I uhh. Umm. I know a plethora of knock knock jokes.�

Now if I am working there for 5 years without getting laid off I will sit back and chuckle about how I have spent the last 3.5 years worrying for nothing about losing my job. I should place every bottle of beer I drink in a pile and call it my unemployment worry hill. On top I will put a pillowcase filled with monopoly money.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!