McDude's Kind of Cool

Where'd the trains go? Gothic Pagan!

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-12-09 - 8:55 p.m.

My poor Bears.

I took my parents downtown today. They haven�t been to downtown Chicago in 35 years. Both are now in their mid-sixty�s and were impressed by how much things have changed. It saddens me to see them humbled by crowds of people and the size of the buildings. Was it regret on their faces for not venturing to Chicago more often? They claim to have visited Chicago regularly, seeing shows and generally absorbing the urban culture. Who would have thought? Ever since I have known my parents they have avoided crowds of people and urban areas. What could have kept them from doing what they once enjoyed? I believe it was because the Trains from my hometown stopped venturing to Chicago? Once commuter and freight trains traveled through town on a regular basis. Now one line is completely closed and the other line sporadically spurts only freight trains.

How sad that the place they were born and raised betrayed them. The town was once a booming town, a large agriculture center is now virtually a bedroom community to towns that have little culture or economy to offer. I guess the lesson is no matter how deep your roots are planted if you begin to get suffocated you either adapt or choke to death.

We stopped to eat and I overheard a father telling his daughter, �No smoothies today.� Then he turned to his wife and said, �We should have bought the one in Switzerland with the fan underneath.� The little girl sat their staring as the parents argued about some device that bares little utility other then being the device of the now, providing conversation and social positioning. I see the girl coming home with a hideous facial piercing and green hair. The parents will wonder why the girl isn�t like the Jones�s daughter. It is because instead of buying her a Smoothie you talked about a Swiss Chili Cooler or some such device. Moments like this piled up until the one day when she finally gets your attention it will be to late. The damage has been done your daughter is now heaven forbid a gothic pagan!

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!