McDude's Kind of Cool

The Switch

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-11-26 - 8:26 p.m.

It was nice to have an entire week off of work. Today was a struggle. I had 400 unread email messages when I returned to work. However, most of them required just a glance to be deleted. Tonight was a bowling night so I had to leave a little earlier then I wanted. Tomorrow will be another hectic day to catch up. I have 4 meetings in 2 hours tomorrow. I think my company is trying to slice me into many little McDude�s. They could just clone me. It wouldn�t be as messy.

Returning home for a holiday is nothing like it was a few years ago. Back then I had to be a master in time management in order to hang out with all of my friends. Now I spend most of my time hanging with my parents and brother.

I did keep one tradition alive. I always eat at a truck stop after hours the Wed before Thanksgiving. This year it was just my girlfriend and myself. We arrived just before midnight. Manic Monday was playing on the music system. The restaurant was packed and only one waitress was serving. So we studied the menu carefully. It was a hard to decide between the Truckers Special and Biscuits & Gravy. It was about 12:10 when the waitress waited on us. Since I hadn�t made my decision yet my mind raced along. On a whim I say, �I�ll have Milk and Biscuits & Gravy�.

With that decision off of my mind I began to notice the surroundings. Now John Lennon�s �So This Is Christmas� was on the music system. The light bulb went off in my head and I proclaim, �We just heard the switch.� Now my girlfriend looks perplexed. �When we arrived Manic Monday was playing. Now, So This Is Christmas is on. They have switched from regular music to holiday music. It must have happened at Midnight. Since it is now Thanksgiving they have switched from normal music to Holiday music and we were here to witness it. People sitting in restaurants all across the country heard it to but didn�t notice.�

�Why would it switch at Midnight central time? Wouldn�t it switch at Eastern or Pacific?� she questions.

�Well the company is obviously located in the central time zone.�

Then, Sting came over the music system with �Every Little Thing She Does is Magic� and my theory was completed disproved. Somewhere, somebody heard the switch. Perhaps it was a mall janitor, gas station clerk, truck driver, or waitress? I just hope they appreciated it for all that it is worth. I know I would have.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!