McDude's Kind of Cool

Oop-Brothers

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-05-20 - 1:03 p.m.

I finished the Ernest Hemmingway book I was reading on Friday. I went to Barnes and Noble to drink some coffee and finish it. Finishing a book to me is a lot like having a close friend move away from you. When they move you know that you will hardly hear from them again. I'll never hear what happens to Brett or Jack after they get back to Paris. How sad?

I started thinking about my friend. We�ll call him Jim. Jim was one of the funniest people I knew. His sense of humor was on the same plane as mine. We were overly cynical, out there, and a bit subtle. We would do things that were hilarious to us, but would leave other people scratching their heads and wondering why we weren�t locked away somewhere. I suppose that is how we gave ourselves the power and self-confidence over any situation. We were inseparable through Jr. High and High school. We were always two of the best, in our clickat, at whatever athletic activity we did, especially mini-golf, basketball, and football. We called ourselves the opp-brothers, because we were all ways throwing alli-oop passes to each other in basketball. He was tall, lanky and fast, I was shorter, stocky and determined. We made a great athletic team as well as a comedy team. Of all the people I grew up with I miss him the most.

Yet I do not have the guts to call him. We were separated when I finished at my community college and went to a major university. While I was attending community college he got some girl pregnant and married her. They had another baby right after the first one. Of all the people in our click every one thought he would be the last one to get married. But he was the first. Everyone thought I would be the first. Right now it looks like I might be the last.

Because of his family he had to work and not go to school. I talked to him for a while when I was at school. But the phone calls were farther and farther apart until they stopped. I haven�t talked to him in about 3 years now.

I am mostly afraid to call because I don�t want to ruin the great image I have of our friendship by having a bad conversation. I have dreams about meeting him. He is usually friendly in the dreams but the conversation is short before he blows me off. The conversation is always meaningless chitchat, like the weather and how time flies and stuff. His wife is in the dreams to. She always gives me a dirty look but never says anything.

I wonder if he thinks about me in the same way.

It is selfish of me to think so but I dream of him being cut from his responsibilities and putting the duo back together. The oop-brothers re-unite.

Isn�t it pretty to think so?

The Dude

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!