McDude's Kind of Cool

Off the fence

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-03-17 - 10:01 p.m.

I had a job interview today. I should have worn something nicer and had my hair cut. I was on the fence before the interview. One side of me hated the potential of being on call for a month at time. I would hate to work in a legacy language. I would hate leaving the building I currently work in and all my friends. The positives would be doing actual development work again and staying employed. I was really nervous today about possibly taking a job that I would hate. I arrive at the interview and realized that who I researched as my team leader would actually be my project manager and my team leader was someone I had not researched. Crap, so the little preparation I did do was incomplete. They began by asking me about my current position which has absolutely nothing to do with development work. I began talking over their heads about server maintenance and troubleshooting with users at home. They then asked me, �Do you currently do any developing?�
I thought, �No but I�m really good at surfing the internet without anyone noticing.�
Then I spoke to my days as a developer over 2 years ago. Things then improved. For negative or worse I turned the interview into a casual conversation about the various differences between their area and the areas I�d work in. I hopefully showed my ability to communicate and collaborate with coworkers. I hopefully expressed a need to take ownership of my projects. They said that I should find out sometime next week. Now that the interview is over I�m off the fence. I want the job

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!