McDude's Kind of Cool

I'm lucky I wasn't born a horse

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-11-16 - 8:59 p.m.

I broke my fibula playing flag football on Saturday afternoon. The fibula is the smaller of the two bones that connects your knee to your ankle. I caught the ball while running over the middle of the field. I spun out of one tackle and started sprinting down the sideline toward the end zone when a defender was closing in on me. I decided to jump and hold the ball over the cone for the score just like the pros do. I planted my right foot in preparation to leap and felt a tug in my lower leg, my ankle wanted to keep going to the left but I was telling my body to jump to the right. I still managed to leap into the air and hold the ball over the cone, touchdown. Then I took assessment of my leg and all seemed okay. No excruciating pane. But then I began to walk and my foot ached and I had limited range of motion. I managed to hobbled to a bench near by and laid down. While I was there the rest of the players were arguing about whether it was actually a touchdown or not. I was ruled out at the one yard line. What BS and I couldn�t even argue the call. My leg ached and nausea set in. After about 20 minutes I sat up and took off my shoe, the nausea was gone but my leg still hurt. I expected it to be swollen already but it looked normal. I tried to walk on it and did with some success, however my foot didn�t move very well and it did hurt putting weight on it. I decided to walk about 200 yards to my car. It felt like it took me 200 minutes. I looked back at the game and wished it were me throwing balls and catching balls.

I decided to drive to a 24 hour emergency medical center. Thank goodness my car has cruise control as I couldn�t extend my foot to accelerate and I was forced to brake with my left foot. I should have made one of the other players drive me but I didn�t want to interrupt the game. I would push my entire foot onto the accelerator and throw myself back in the seat, then I would rough brake with my left foot and throw myself forward again. It was cool once I got on the expressway though because then it was cruise control city.

There were a few people waiting before me at the medical center. One was an old Russian man who was in a wheel chair and on oxygen. His middle aged Russian daughter began yelling at the nurse behind the desk, �This entire room has cleared out twice and we still haven�t gone yet?� The nurse calmly explained that her situation wasn�t an emergency. When the Russian lady walk back to her seat she said to the old man, �These stupid American�s, they say your not important and can�t go yet.� I felt bad for the old man, not only did he have to wait a long time but he also had to listen to his daughter bitch about it.

Finally my name was called and I hobbled over to a desk so they could take down my information. I waited and waited and finally a nurse came and started talking to me in Spanish. Apparently I look Hispanic when I am wearing muddy black sweatshirt and muddy gray sweatpants. She soon realized her mistake and walked away. At this point I convinced myself that nothing was broken. It was probably just a high ankles sprain or a pulled muscle or something. Once I made it to my room, which was only an area surrounded by curtains so I could hear everything going on in the rooms next to mine. In one room the doctor was asking a 16 year old girl why she was living with her boyfriend and in the other a woman was getting an IV for an infection. I waited and waited until they could finally take some X-rays. I hobbled to the room despite being offered a wheel chair.

When the X-rays were finished the Dr. had me walk to a place where we could view them. He pointed out the tiny crack in my fibula. He proceeded to explain that people can live without this bone and what not. I stopped listening after that because I became nauseas again. I started burning up and sweating. The Dr. started laughing and had the nurse lay me down. I later heard him say, �I showed him his x-ray and he became light headed.� No sympathy from that Doctor. Once I recovered the nurse rapped my leg in an ace bandage and gave me some crutches. As I was leaving the nurse asked if anyone was waiting for me. I said no and then she asked if I thought it was a good idea to drive home myself. I decided to call nearly everyone I know that was in the area. No one answered. I drove myself home braking again with the left foot.

I was supposed to set an appointment with an Orthopedic Dr. after 2 days.

Once I settled into my apartment called bb who decided that I should call my parents immediately. So I decided to break it to my parents easily. When I called my dad answered, �Dad, I hurt my leg playing football.� He then yells across the house, �Maude, McDude broke his leg.� Thanks dad. Then I spent the next to days getting sympathy calls. The ex even called? My brother called and said, �You are lucky your not a horse!� True dat!

Sleeping, Pissing, Shitting, Bathing, are all huge chores. My roommate has been great. I finally took a huge shit on Monday. I tried and failed on both Saturday and Sunday. Well my toilet clogged and overflowed. My roommate cleaned it up for me. What an awesome roommate. I�ll have to get her a nice Christmas present. I�m supposed to go to a Bears game on December 5th and the Irish girl is going to be in town the first week and a half in December. Hopefully I�ll be able to somewhat walk to those events. I also missed work the last two days as well. I got permission to work from home tomorrow and I�ll be getting a ride on Thursday and Friday.

I went to the Orthopedic Dr this morning. All morning I was nervous he was going to rebreak my leg to set it, or say that we need to amputate it. At the very least I would need a cast. But none of the above happened. He simply told me to stay on crutches for a week. Keep rapping it for a while. Then gradually start walking on it. He said to start walking around on one crutch next week. Maybe I�ll be walking fine by the bears game. He also said I can start driving again when I feel safe.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!