McDude's Kind of Cool

multiple existences

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2002-06-22 - 8:32 a.m.

I�ve been thinking about scene 6 in the movie waking life. In the scene a guy is talking about free will. Free will is something I have pondered in the past. I�d usually throw it into an argument when a hard-core Christian would ask me why I didn�t believe in anything. But the scene in the movie opened my mind onto an entirely new wrinkle of free will. Do we ourselves control the chemical reactions in our minds? Or are we a slave to the physical laws like the rest of the universe?? Am I a soul utilizing my mind as a tool to create and ponder the meaning of my soul? Or is my mind a complex bio-robot preprogrammed with complex instincts to write this journal about pondering my soul? Maybe in some complex way this journal is just some complex mating ritual? Or survival ritual utilized from our instincts to extend our species? If we didn�t search for answers and deep meanings to our lives suicide would be much higher and we�d probably suicide our way onto the endangered species list.

I don�t want to believe that? But how else can I explain hours of sitting on the couch playing guitar and thinking to myself, �Okay McDude you will get up and do laundry now.� But my body remains on the couch, playing guitar? Then instantly, without my mind telling me to do so, I�ll jump up and start reading a magazine. I know that my body should be doing laundry. But my body has some need to exercise my mind with written words and melodies.

I�ve believed for sometime our lives are constantly being lived. We die here. But since the universe is infinite we have to exist elsewhere doing the same thing or different things depending on the make-up of the particular solar system. However many scientists believe that there is a limited number of molecules in the universe. Therefore it cannot be infinite?? Well if there are a limited number of molecules that would mean a finite number of possibilities would exist in time, because time is still infinite. We would relive each of these finite possibilities over and over and over. We�ve done this forever. I am not limited by time? I just need to find a way to connect my multiple existences.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!