McDude's Kind of Cool

Lets go Fly a kite

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-09-13 - 9:03 p.m.

I walked to Boston Market for dinner today. I overheard a couple talking as they were leaving a party at a nearby house. The woman said, �How am I supposed to tell them I�m pregnant? Do I just say hi how are you? I�m pregnant?� If I were a girl and just found out I was pregnant I wouldn�t tell any of my husbands family. After telling distant members of his family that I was pregnant they�d be like �Wow you fuck little Joey 3 months ago I guess you are not a frigid bitch after all.�

We had a kite-flying contest at work on Wed. We usually have a team building events like this at my company once every quarter. They are typically a royal pain in the ass. This one was especially painful for me because I was elected to lead a kite flying team. I called together a meeting with the 7 members assigned to my team, of which I only knew 2. Only two people arrived at the first meeting. One I knew and the other I had not met but had seen around. The idea of the event was to build a kite from scratch so we talked about different themes and designs. I decided to send the ideas to the rest of the team and get a consensus opinion on what could be done. Immediately after I sent out our various ideas a member of the team volunteered use of some of his kites he had stored in his garage for his kids. This seemed like a good plan I asked him what kind of kites they were and he mentioned a couple of cartoon kites and a Bald Eagle kite. We elected to use the Bald eagle kite and then dress up in patriotic dress. I called a meeting on Tuesday to organize our patriotic accessorizing and make sure we had everything that was necessary. We didn�t have any ideas on the patriotic. I volunteered to buy some string and look for stars and stripes party hats or something. Another member of the team offered to do the same. After work I went to Toys R Us a hobby store and target before finally finding string worthy of kite flying at Walmart. I was so frustrated I grabbed a roll of string that was 1000 yards. Thinking it would be about 330 feet. After the purchase I realized it was 3000 feet and was a little embarrassed. We were only supposed to have 500 feet of sting because of an FAA regulation. It would have to do. I was really apprehensive about the entire event. I was afraid we would be the only team without a homemade kite. I was for sure we would be the only team with 3000 feet of string. So the day of the event began and of course all 7 members of my team arrived at my desk wondering what they could do. I made 2 that didn�t participate in any of the meetings fly the kite. So we walked out together. The head of the division approached me and said, � You must be optimistic with all that string, there isn�t even a breeze today.� But we didn�t have any problem getting the kite in the air. Of the 5 teams 3 had home made kites and there were 2 with manufactured kites. The other manufactured kite was large and expensive. The guy who owned it was a serious kite hobbyist. Unfortunately for him his kite was to heavy to fly on such a windless day. So our kite won the highest kite competition. Two of the three homemade kites didn�t fly at all. One of the kites was made from McDonalds Cups and straws. The other one was a paper sack with balloons tied to it. The one homemade kite that flew was just a piece of fabric with a picture of a co-worker in Iraq on it. It didn�t fly very high though. I guess it was worth leading a team in the kite flying competition. Our team won gift certificates to Borders books. The team members that didn�t participate gave me theirs so I received a total of 15 bucks in certificates. Also leading my team to victory will hopefully show upper management that I am a straight shooter with upper management potential written all over me.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!