McDude's Kind of Cool

Cowboy Baby Phobia

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-05-03 - 10:05 p.m.

I was listening to a stress management seminar today. I learned about a study done where people wrote about their feelings for 20 minutes a day. The study illustrates that the people who kept a journal were more productive in their daily lives and were less likely to become ill. I am not for sure if I agree with this conclusion. I really do not even understand why I listened to the tape. I mean any one who knows me will tell you how calm, cool, and collected I am. I am a lucky man. I think I am very objective and put things into proper prospective. My only weak point might be my social skills.

One of my biggest pet peeves is a person that exaggerates stories. I hate the people who pass on urban legend as fact. The cause of this are the people that listen and believe without question the tall tails that are put before them. The world of physics in their minds must be different then that of reality. I would like to believe that they just have bad memories. But I think if they had bad memories their stories would not be entertaining. I think the fact that I can�t embellish my stories hampers some of my social skills.

I think the fact that I probably never played with other kids my age until I was 5 was somewhat damaging on my social skill factor. Being the youngest by several years and having anti-social parents left me behind when kindergarten started. The basic social building blocks were replaced by a cliff note version by some guy who held out his hand and said, �Best Friends Forever�. Not knowing any better I said sure and shook his hand. This guy was my best friend for a few years until his own anti-social parents killed any hope of him being normal in any sense of the word.

Skipping the whole sympathy thing I think the lack of building blocks made me a pretty strong character. I�ve been told that I am a unique guy, but I don�t buy that. I�m just like everyone else. I�ve always had a good clique of friends to hang around with. I never got into the whole acquaintance thing that America seems to get into though. The superficial chit chat that people have. This usually happens if you learn some persons name and a couple of tid-bits about them. �Oh, High how have you been? Is little Johnny steering clear of trouble? Your hair looks great what did you do to it? Oh I admire your daring fashion sense? Well I must run I�m so tired, would you know I worked 72 hours last week, then my leg fell off and I had to have it replaced.�

The exaggerators always have the most acquaintances. I don�t know which feeds which. Does the need to have acquaintances make people exaggerate, or the fact that people exaggerate bring them a heard of acquaintances. I suppose the egg came fist. The EGGXAGGERATORS came first that is. Ha Ha. That is one of coolest puns ever.

The guy, who asked me if I would be his �Best Friend Forever�, got married immediately following high school. He impregnated a girl and married her. Now they are divorced. He was engaged to another girl, whom he was cheating on with her stepsister. The engaged girl was arrested for battery for kicking her stepsister�s ass. Now the guy is engaged to the stepsister. He has had a dozen jobs most of them have been odd jobs. But now he is an auxiliary cop protecting my riotous ass. That�s what happens if you are overprotective of your children. I think his parents listened to the Willie Nelson Classic �Momma don�t let your babies grow up to be cowboys.� a few too many times.

Later McDude

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!