McDude's Kind of Cool

Kicked in the Nuts

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-03-30 - 10:29 p.m.

Lately I�ve been sitting at my desk all day listening to the two architects across from me work their asses off. It pisses me off that two people do tons of work while I sit here willing to help. Their work ethic is something to be debated. They take on more work than most and put in 60 + hours a week to complete it. So, technically they do the work of 3 people thus costing people work and making people who are only willing to work 40 hours a week look bad. They are also what I like to term work snobs. They are only polite to people who have clout. They look down their noses at underlings and are very rude and condescending while working with them. They are also very rude to me, shouting loudly over the cube at each other, letting their visitor�s use my chair and adjust the settings, and hold extended meetings at their desk instead of a meeting room. They basically act like I don�t exist, never saying hello, avoiding eye contact. I�ll pass them in the hall and they�ll look down and speed past. I just met one in the restroom. I was trying to leave as he was trying to enter. He groaned as I passed probably thinking I�m a damn fool that doesn�t do any work.

I got turned down for an interview today. Talk about getting kicked in the nuts. It was one of the few jobs in my department that I had technical qualifications for. They won�t even interview me. Why I have no idea? I�m a great team member. I take ownership of my projects. I cross my T�s and dot my i�s. I have a spotless record with nothing but good to great reviews. Yet I�m not good enough to interview in my division.

After finding out the news I took a walk through the halls. I conveniently passed my new VP�s office. (This getting laid off thing is all his doing.) I paused to peak through his window and saw him leaning back in his chair with his hands folded on his head staring out the window. His screen saver was displayed on the monitor. Kicked in the nuts again!

There is good news on the horizon. The big brain and a bowling teammate of mine put a good word in for me in another area. I have an interview with the team lead this Friday. It might be my last chance to stay employed.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!