McDude's Kind of Cool

Sentiment

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-04-10 - 5:52 p.m.

So my girlfriend and I were chatting about the future and she asked me out of the blue,

�What do you find sentimental?� �You seem to be void of sentimental things.�

What do I find sentimental? I used to find everything sentimental: scenery, friends, pets, moments, things, food, whatever you could imagine. But I was like 6 at the time and I think anything a 6 yr old can comprehend is sentimental. I think I outgrew that whole thing when I was like 11 or so. My parents bought me a G.I. Joe. It was the first one I had received in a long while. I opened it and thought, � Man, I am to old for G.I. Joes.� I went in to the rest room and shed a tear or two and I never played with action figures again. I never really played with them before then either. But, it was a defining moment. I think I decided right then to try to be more selective when deciding which things in my life received sentimental value. Now I only really feel sentimental at funerals (or death of pets), or during a major change. I just went through a major change so I guess I won�t have sentiment until the next major change. I do have sentiment for shit though. But that is not the highest form of sentiment. Noticing shit happen because of the passage of time is always sentimental. Somehow I don�t think this was the type of sentiment my girlfriend was thinking of when she asked me the question. Unfortunately, the sentiment she is looking for isn�t readily present with me. Probably because of lack of intimacy both viewed and received from my parents. But, that topic should be discussed on another day.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!