McDude's Kind of Cool

Revolving Door

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-04-24 - 9:35 p.m.

I did it. I bought some tires today. After kicking my own ass last night for procrastinating, I bought new tires today. The drive home on them was pretty good.

It is always a relief to get a monkey off of the needs list. The less needs I have the more wants I can fulfill. The older you get the more needs you have on the list. The more needs you fulfill the higher the wants list will get. Until you feel completely smothered and have a mid life crisis. At which point you go out, buy a new sports car and have wild sex with someone half your age. You make decisions on whim for about 7 months. After that you realize how childish you�ve been acting and start playing the, I�ve been around since when card, for all that it is worth.

Man I fear the whole aging thing. Although I think I�ll be pretty good at it. I�ve never felt hip so I won�t feel alienated by a younger generation of trendy people. I have never felt sexy; aging will put me on a more even playing field with other men my age. I�ve never been rich so I�ll probably make more money each year then I have in each of my previous years. I�ve never been incredibly athletic. Although, losing mobility or my jump shot would be somewhat troubling. I used to be able to run with great stamina and was pretty quick. But losing that isn�t that big of a deal. I have never had a lot of stamina in the bedroom. So the older I get the longer I will last.

I have great eye site. Losing that will not be enjoyable.

But the thing I fear losing the most is my droll personality. I dread losing my young at heart way of looking at life. I dread I will lose my ability to say what I really feel, because of an overwhelming need to be PC. I fear becoming my parents. I fear losing nearly all interest in recreation, while most of my focus is on perceived needs that provide no real utility. I fear losing a social life. I fear losing my optimism.

But I am so optimistic now that I think I will handle the realization of my fears as cool as the other side of the pillow. Some doors just revolve. Life revolves. You go out the same door you come in. You decide how long you spin.

-Dude

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!