McDude's Kind of Cool

Red Monkey

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2002-09-24 - 6:28 p.m.

It is finally fall. I always love the quiet during the first few days of fall. The insects stop chirping, the air conditioners aren?t running, kids aren?t screaming. You don?t hear the dried leaves under your feet or the wind howling in your ears. Fall rocks.

I attended a wedding over the weekend. It was a hometown friend of mine. After the wedding he had a reception dinner at an Italian restaurant. Before the dinner we went to our Hotel room to change into something more casual. As we were leaving the hotel we saw a crane game with stuffed animals. One red monkey stood called to us from the machine. He seemed to say, ?Free me, aren?t I cute.? I said we?d try to win it when we got back.

We arrived before everyone else at the restaurant. A few of the groom?s friends arrived before anyone else that I knew did. I was beginning to dread how awkward the conversation was going to be. One asked, ?Hey what is your name again?? I supplied my name. ?Cooking soup? You?re the cooking soup guy! Did you know that cooking soup has made it to Texas??? Cooking soup is a law of Pop music I theorized. You can insert the words ?Cooking Soup? into any song. I told the groom this theory. He passed it on to this guy who evidently passed it on to Texas. Soon it will migrate to Chile. It will be our revenge for the West Nile Virus.

Later in the evening I was talking with the groom and another old friend. The grooms used to visit the Burger King I worked at and order a Whopper with cheese only lettuce. I aptly knick-named his sandwich the Julio Iglesius. Whoppers were Julio?s because a van full of Hispanic Speaking people came to the drive thru and ordered 10 Julio?s. So I gave them 10 Whoppers and they did not complain. The Iglesius sounded good with Julio so it was a Julio Iglesius.

When we returned to the Hotel the red monkey was still in the cage. We put in our only change of 50 cents. I moved the crane until it was hovering above our monkey. I pressed the button and the crane descended and grasped our monkey. Now I own a red monkey. The End.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!