McDude's Kind of Cool

Month of March

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-03-29 - 8:54 p.m.

It has been over a month and so much has happened. I truly have a lot to document. This could be the longest and greatest entry ever.

About a month ago my old college roommate(aka ocr), talkshow, benefits buddy and two of ocr�s roommates went out for a night on the town. The night was your typical two beers at quenchers, on to the map room and then to liars club. We saw some legitimate lesbians making out. I say legitimate because they weren�t trying to get the attention of the frat boy crowd. I must horribly admit I�d rather see attention-loving girls do it than legitimate lesbians. Although seeing the real thing is like being out in a forest preserve and seeing a bear. The bear�s actions are legitimate and not conditioned by the zoo but circus bears are a lot more fun.

Finally at the liars club nothing to exciting was happening. One of ocr�s roommates was dancing like a buffoon and I was asking some girls if they had played Buffalo Stance yet. I always like to get my groove on to Buffalo Stance. All of a sudden the DJ comes by with OCR�s roommate in a headlock and kicks him out. It turns out all the guy did was request �Like A Virgin�. This wasn�t the first time I�d seen someone get kicked out of Liars Club for requesting music. But usually it was a bouncer man-handling someone. When I finally went outside to see what was up both of OCR�s roommates were giving the manager hell. It was pretty lame. If you get kicked out of a bar just go to another one instead of bitching about customer service. It�s a bar for Pete�s sake and a dirty bar at that.

The next morning bb and I were lying in bed when my roommate knocked on the door. McDude, there�s smoke in the hall. We tracked the smoke to a nearby apartment, then knocked, but no one answered so I called 911. After explaining what was going on to the 911 crew, we went outside. We looked up to see an old lady looking out the window of the apartment that was smoking. Apparently she could hear because the firemen had to get the apartment manager to unlock the door. I guess some plastic was smoking on the oven or something. Later that week I saw the man who lived in that apartment helping the old lady carry her luggage out. I hope they were not going to a nursing home.

That night I went to a spy party. With my roommate and talkshow. I guess the point of the party was to dress up so that no one would recognize you. I didn�t know anyone at the party so I just brought some handcuffs. The party was all right. I talked to several girls, most of them wearing wigs and such. One girl that was totally trashed tried to make out with me. I was like you had too much to drink didn�t you? She replied with, �Just because the last girl you kissed had to much doesn�t mean I�ve had to much, I just want to kiss.� Then she tried to dance with me and stumbled across the floor. I eventually blew her off and she found another sucker to make out with. It turns out that after we left the party she passed out on the toilet. They had to kick in the door and they found her on the floor with her pants down. Poor girl. After we left the party we walked back to TalkShows car to find that it had been towed. So two auto impounds, 165 dollars and 2.5 hours later we finally made it home. Staying out til the sun comes up always makes for a great day.

Later that week Talkshow, my roommate and I were going to talk about our living situation. We originally wanted to get a house in the near north suburbs but Talkshow and my roommate decided to move into the city. I decided the commute from the city would kill me and decided to stay put in the suburbs. At first I was rather upset. I made sarcastic comments to them about how their lives will be so much better in the city. �You�ll come home from work to find hot chicks hanging out in your apartment. Then youI�ll go to get a glass of water and draft beer will come out of the tap.� But I know it will be nice for them since they work downtown and got over it. I wish my job was downtown. So I debated about getting a new roommate or buying a place. I decided to place an ad on a website for a new roommate. I signed up and was looking through the prospective roommates when one girls ad stood out. A few hours later the same girl contacted me saying she was really interested in my place. Talk about luck, or karma or something. So the girl came by and checked out the place. We went to dinner and she talked my leg off. She has more drinking stories than the big brain. She seems to be one of the guys so it should be cool. But still co-habitating with a member of the other team should be interesting to say the least. The great roommate experiment begins May 1st.

So I guess my current roommate needs a journal name? He shall now be known as g-money. I figure calling him the �old roommate� would get confused with the �old college roommate�. G-money is much better. I�ll make up a name for my new roommate when the time comes. She has the same first name as BB, baseball glove, and several other girls I�ve dated or been stood up by. I�ll probably have to call her something else all the time anyway.

The next week my brother left a message on my answering machine. He said my Grandmother was in the hospital and wasn�t doing to well. It turned out that she had a heart attack the night before and she was probably going to die at any time. So I packed up my things and drove 3 hours home. It was weird packing up my things. I needed to bring clothes for a funeral for someone who hasn�t died yet. The entire trip home I pictured my grandmother lying in bed struggling to breath. I new she had been conscience earlier in the day. I wondered if she new what was happening. I wondered if she was scared. I picture my own death and the thoughts that will run though my mind. I�ll have a million regrets. I finally made it to town and stopped off at home to see if anyone was there. My mom was there, she said grandma was still alive and that my father, aunt and uncle were still at the hospital. So I rode out with my brother. We walked in the room and saw my grandmother lying in bed breathing heavily. My dad looked tired but still joked around with us for a few minutes. After five minutes I noticed my grandmother was not breathing as heavily as she was when we arrived. That was it. She was gone. I had never seen anyone die before. It was quite a peaceful death. Hopefully I will be that peaceful when I go. I decided to drive my father home because he was so shook up. He tried to play it cool though, �Oh driving my truck would give you a big thrill huh?� It sure did. On the way home he was crying, he told me about how he saw his father die, �He was clinching his fists and grinding his teeth. I�m glad mom went peaceful.� I was glad she was peaceful to.

The next four days seemed like a month. If you have a terminal illness move to my hometown. You�re life will seem to take forever. I spent most of the time at my brother�s house watching movies and what not. I was a pallbearer at the funeral. I saw a ton of relatives that I hadn�t seen in years. I�ll probably never see most of them again. Grandma really held the family together. I doubt that there will be any kind of cohesion now.

The next week I got a promotion at work. I received a sweet $6500/ year raise to go with it to. I�ll still consider myself lucky if I�m still employed with them in one year.

My ex called. I hadn�t talked to her in 5 months. Now I�ve talked to her 3 times since I last wrote. The conversations consist of how horrible her job is and how much trouble she has paying bills. She balanced her checkbook before flying to Vegas and discovered she had 9 dollars. How you spend a week in Vegas for $9 I�ll never know. She still hasn�t told me about her new boyfriend. Her voicemail now says you can leave a message for her or him. I suspect that they are living together.

Last weekend I saw Mates of State on Thursday and then saw Dream Theatre on Friday. Talk about opposite ends of the spectrum. The MoS show was at a small club. Their was an even mix of guys to girls their. They played for about 45 minutes and that was it. The Dream Theatre show was at the Riv. The crowd was 95% male and the band played for 4 hours. At mates of state I the crowd was relatively mellow, at Dream Theatre one guy behind me kept yelling like an ogre. They were both good shows though.

This past weekend I helped g-money and talkshow move in together. It was quite a lot of work. I�m sitting alone in my apartment now. I�ll have the place to myself for about a month. I�m gonna miss g-money. But one door closes and another door opens. I�m sure we�ll see each other all the time. Their new place is now my oasis in the city. I planned to use it on Saturday night. G-money had a co-worker who�s birthday was at a bar. It was all you can drink for 25 bucks. Unfortunately for me I got my money�s worth. When the deal was over Talkshow and I went to another bar. On the way to the bar I puked in the back of the cab. I felt way better though. At the next bar I continued to walk around to walk it off. Talkshow met his lady friend their so I decided not to embarrass them and left them alone. We soon went back to the oasis to crash. However Talkshow�s keys to the back door did not work. So we were locked out. Fortunately Talkshow�s lady friend arrived and drove us back to my place so we could crash.

I crashed at about 5 in the morning. I woke up around 9 still woozy. Thank God I don�t get hung-over. I did the touristy thing with a girl from Northern Ireland that I had trained a few years ago. We had a nice time. We walked around the like and down the miraculous mile. We checked out the observation deck at the Hancock building. On top it said that the locals refer to the Hancock as �Big John�. I�ve never heard anyone refer to the building as �Big John�. We joked around for about 20 minutes saying that we were on top of �Big John� today. On the way back to the car we got soaked. I didn�t mind however since the view was nice.

Well that was my month in a nutshell. I should update quite a bit more now that I�m roomateless and have nothing to do.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!