McDude's Kind of Cool

Million Dollar Waste of Time/ Job Search

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-03-10 - 10:49 p.m.

Tuesday we had a division meeting at work. We were expecting a huge reorganization for the big re-write of our entire system. Instead they dropped a bombshell. Instead they are analyzing the organization looking for positions that no longer provide value. I am obviously in a position that no longer adds value, as is the rest of my team. We outsourced our positions to �free up� our time to join other projects.

I like how management sugarcoats it. They say things like, �We�ll realign our resources, after the outsourcing, to newer development projects.� Then when it is time to fill those projects they hire contractors because, �Our employees are under skilled.� Yet, we weren�t even given an opportunity to interview for those positions, which we supposedly outsourced our jobs for.

I had a position and was very successful at it. I can honestly say that my position is currently being handled less affectively by a couple of blokes in Ireland. We have customers in every time zone in the United States that work a basic 9 to 5 shift. However the folks supporting them in Ireland only provide support from 3 AM to 11 AM. I�ve received several phone calls complaining about this but upper management doesn�t seem to care that no one is available to support our customers in the afternoon. We�re probably saving a bundle at the expense of my job security.

I�m sure our VP�s are getting fat bonuses, as is our CEO. I should be happy because the 10 grand in stock I have in my 401k is continuing to increase. Our investors are making tons of cash. The consulting companies that sold the replacement software are making tons of money. Upper management is making tons of money, while I am going to walk the unemployment line.

It�s just the nature of business. �The times they are a changing.� Programming jobs will be just another average commodity in 6 years. It�s time for me to find another career path. But what do I want to do when I grow up? Although I�m still 29 I feel about 22.

I had a dream about work last night. I was sitting at my desk listening to headphones when someone stopped by and suggested playing the music over our intercom system. I thought it sounded like a good idea and proceeded to blast my music over the entire building. Then I was in a meeting room waiting for a meeting to start. I could hear my mumbled tunes playing outside the room and was excited that everyone was enjoying the music. Then my old boss came in unconsciously humming the songs as she reviewed her papers. Yes! She likes the music to, but what song is she humming? Then the next person opened the door and I could hear exactly what song it was. The lyric, �You eat shit cause you�re stupid and shallow�� blared through my office building. Oh crap, I forgot how un-diverse and offensive some of my music might be. I ran out of the meeting room toward my desk to shut off the music. As I ran random co-workers were giving me high five�s and telling my they love my music. Once I shut off the music all of the co-workers started booing and asking why I shut it off. I said, �No reason, no reason at all.� I couldn�t tell them my music might be offensive. I had to be the bad guy and stop playing the music for fear of being fired. Yet my coworkers lost respect for me. It was a lose, lose situation.
I decided to see Million Dollar Baby Friday night with Parrot. We sat through several previews and then the lights came on and the movie didn�t start. Ten minutes later the movie finally started. Unfortunately it was 10 minutes into the movie. The crowd grumbled and a few people left to complain. One guy came back and said that they weren�t going to rewind the movie. Then the movie stopped again and the lights came back on. We thought maybe they were going to rewind the movie because of all the complaints. Ten minutes later the movie started and it was now twenty minutes into the movie and we had missed most of it so we decided to leave and get our money back. We finally got our free movie passes and were invited to attend another show. I wanted to see the jacket but Parrot�s two friends wanted to see the Pacifier. Needless to say it was one of the worst movies I�d seen in a long time. Can I have my two hours back please?

Saturday I ventured into the city. Talkshow and G-money got the keys to our new place and I went to pick up my set and check out the place again so I could pick which bedroom I wanted. Each bedroom has a perk. The master bedroom was actually the smallest bedroom. Plus everyone will walk through my room to get to the laundry room. However the master bedroom has a private bathroom and easy access to the laundry room and garage. The middle bedroom is slightly larger and it has a huge walk-in closet. The last bedroom is the largest bedroom, but it is right next to the living room, which could provide sleeping difficulties on certain nights. I decided to take the master bedroom with the private bathroom. Because it�s the smallest room I�ve decided to let G-money use one of my dressers. I�d enjoy a larger space. However I don�t imagine much time will be spent in my room.

Saturday night I was on. We went out to Talkshow�s friend Mr Anderson�s girlfriend was having a birthday party. G-money was there along with two of Talkshow�s co-workers liz whom talkshow is in love with and the Lion. Eventually I began talking to the Lion and liz about my movie experience the nigh before and picking out the right room for myself, whether we need two TV�s in the living room and how I only tip strippers with real breasts. They were eating up everything I said. They began to comment on how I should try stand-up comedy. I�ve received this compliment before and it always catches me off guard.

The downfall of the night was finding out that the Lion was interested in the Carpenter. G-money told me he was interested in the Lion. Unfortunately she apparently didn�t even consider g-money! The Lion is witty and interesting. The carpenter is average. She should go for G-money, but instead she decides to like the carpenter. Oh well. It should be a law of physics. If you like someone they most definitely like someone else.

I returned to the dentist on Tuesday. I arrived about 5 minutes early. The hygienist called me as soon as I say down with my magazine. She didn�t call my name. She simply said, �You can come back now.� I was glad the wait was over. Wait; maybe she thinks I�m someone else who is actually supposed to have his teeth pulled. Just as I was about to say, �Hey you know I�m McDude right?� she said, �We�ll start your cleaning in a minute.� What a relief. So my teeth were cleaned and then the dentist saw me and reminded me to brush my teeth every night to prevent the gingivitis from returning. Thanks for the reminder buddy!

Last night I saw Shortbus, which is a combination of Long Beach Dub All-stars and Sublime. It was Bear Buddies idea to go. She brought three of her friends. I didn�t feel like being the fifth in her car on the way down so I decided to test the commute to my new place. I made it in 52 minutes. Not bad. I�m sure that�ll be about average. I then headed to the Oasis to eat dinner and watch Dan Rather�s final broadcast.

At the show G-Money and Bear buddy�s friends were partying pretty hard. G-money took a hit off of something and went down for the count. He ran down to the bathroom and started puking. A bouncer at the club kicked him out when he was finished. He waited for about 15 minutes and tried to sneak back in. The initial ticket takers allowed him to return but then the bouncer that kicked him out returned and he was denied access. G-Money doesn�t know how to say no. The show was okay. I was expecting more chilling music. It was hard and a mosh-pit had formed. I hadn�t been to a show with a pit in a long time.

Time to go work hard!

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!