McDude's Kind of Cool

Middle Class Demographic

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-06-01 - 9:51 p.m.

I feel trapped by my job. Like a religious commandment I must fulfill my responsibility to pay the debts I have accrued. I must live on my own, earning a wage that puts me into the �Middle Class Demographic�. All my parents expected was a middle of the road performance. Everything else was gravy. All B�s on my report card was awesome. Don�t buy generic, don�t buy designer, by the pop equivalent on sale. Instead of Guess, Polo, or Kmart, Dollar General, it was Levi, Bugle Boy, and Ocean Pacific. Instead of a foreign car we got a Chevy. Don�t put on to much gravy, its just unreasonable to put that much icing on the cake. Oh well if you don�t expect too much from yourself you can never fail. Everything in my life right now is gravy.

I wonder how many people desire to be a starving artist? Or a rich artist? I wonder how many starving artists wish they were in the �Middle Class Demographic�? Maybe I should have studied journalism in school? I should take an online creative writing course or something.

Today my car�s Service Engine Soon light flashed. I just want to let it light up and stay up. But my middle of the road conscience is saying a beat up crappy car with a bad engine is no car to be driving in, now don�t go out and buy a fancy foreign car. Just fix your middle of the road car you already own. So tomorrow I will probably take it to a garage and have somebody look at it. They�ll probably tell me some line of bullshit, reset the computer in the car then charge me $500.

I long for a two-month trip to some exotic island where I can go to a beach and buy a bottle of Red Stripe from one of those Straw Hut type bars. I�d sit on the beach and watch the waves roll in. Sip on my Red Stripe and ponder how George Bush got elected. Maybe I�d lay in a hammock with a straw hat over my face napping. Dreaming of my friend Jim. Dreaming of�

The greater my daily stress level the more I fantasize about napping and dreaming. I can remember when I was a kid and Night Court was on at 8:30 on Thursdays. I couldn�t wait until it was over so I could go to bed. If I went to bed before it was over my parents would think I was either sick, contemplating suicide or something worse. I haven�t fantasized about sleeping very much since then. But for the last month or so I find myself avoiding my responsibilities by napping.

Money is the root of all evil, sleep is the best drug for escaping your search for all that is evil. Sleep is devastatingly honest, non-judgmental, and it is my Garden of Eden.

�The Bums will always lose! YOU HEAR ME, LEBOWSKI? THE BUMS WILL ALWAYS LOSE!!� -Jeffery �The Millionare� Lebowski- The Big Lebowski.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!