McDude's Kind of Cool

June 2003 Map to success

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2002-02-01 - 9:36 p.m.

I�ve been keeping this journal for over a year now. I tend to write in spurts. Depending on the time. When I am working late I write less. When I have a lot of visitors and social events I write less.

That is the cause of my trend. I can only dream of obligation free living. Traveling the country with nothing but a sleeping back. Hitching from place to place. Smiling at the sky, writing in a journal, and peeing in a ditch. If I had done that for the last year my journal would be more interesting. But, would I be any happier. Would I have stepped any closer to my long-term goals. I can answer that with a big NO, because I don�t have any goals. Total enlightenment is my goal, but so is a comfortable bed and a toilet. I think a compromise is in order.

So far (before this paragraph) I have 43,743 words in my journal. I have 71 pages in a word document single spaced, with .8 inch margins on the left and right and .5 inch margins on the top and bottom. I think if I made a commitment to write more I could seriously put a work of fiction out in a year. I�ll set a goal. By June, 2003 I will have at least a novelette. By the end of February I�ll have completed a solid outline. The bulk of the book must be written by December 25, 2002. My days of spending my free time odiously pacing my apartment, rubbing the bishop and napping are over. I have set a goal. I will document my progress in this journal. If I fail this journal will hopefully provide clues on how to improve. If I succeed, this journal will provide a map for myself and possible others into goal achievement.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!