McDude's Kind of Cool

The City is like having a baby

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-02-21 - 11:18 p.m.

I went to Wendy�s tonight. Wendy�s is my stress relieving crutch. Tonight was a bowling night and I had a horrible night. I go home and my roommate was cooking. I needed horrible pig out food immediately so I ran to Wendy�s. After ordering my food I was filling up my mandatory 6 little cups of ketchup to drown my fries in. I start pumping on one of the ketchup dispensers and nothing comes out. I pumped three times and nothing came out. After hesitating I pumped a fourth time and a bug fell out and lands in my cup. A second later it flops onto its legs and flies away. I pondered for a second on what to do. I decided to just use the other ketchup dispenser and eat my dinner.

I ventured into the city last Friday night. It was your typical night on the town with Talkshow. We hit up the Dishonest Club and some Irish bar. Returned home to cook some taquito�s and pass out. The next day we went shopping for places to live.

Talkshow and G-money talked me into moving into the city with them. It will lengthen my commute by at least 30 minutes each way. However I�ll get to spend more time with my buddy�s. I�ll also be living in �The City�, a magical, mythical place where beer flows freely from your water tap and hot chicks don�t act like bitches. While we were looking at various places people would ask where we live now. Upon finding out that I�m a suburbanite they�d say things like, �Wow, your life will completely change living in the city.� I�m not having a baby, just moving into the city.

It was like some weird twilight zone episode. Like my first night in the city I�ll be dragged from my bed to go through some secret initiation ceremony. They�ll force me to do some kind of animal sacrifice to become a member of the �Cool City folk gang�. I�ll learn the secret hand shake and given lessons on how to dress properly.

So we stared driving west from their current place which is fairly close the lake. I wanted to move North and west. So I could be closer to the expressway and closer to work. They wanted to stay close to the lake to be closer to train stops and the party scene. We drove all over several neighborhoods. We wrote down phone numbers and called several places but didn�t really have any leads. In the last neighborhood we were checking out we stopped to read a for rent sign when a lady on the steps next to us asked, �How many bedrooms are you looking for, because my friend here is in real estate.� Her friend steps out the door in her bathrobe. A cute girl in a bathrobe starts telling us about a �killer apartment� over in RSCOE village. She told us to check out it out and call her later that day if we were interested.

We drove right over and immediately loved the place and the neighborhood. It�s a three flat with garage so I can park my car. My only demand was a parking space. The place looked spacious on the outside. It was close to a train stop. Plus it is close to our favorite breakfast place, and several coffee shops and sandwich shops. We were told the third floor and 1st floor were open. I stuck my face against the bay window to peer inside for a better look. There was a woman inside in a rocking chair. I quickly walked away embarrassed that I had assumed the place was already empty. We called robe girl and told her we were definitely interested. We found out the third floor had two applications but the garden was still available. As we were getting ready to leave the neighborhood she called back and said the owner could show us the place in 30 minutes. We decided to kill some time at a neighborhood pub. We ordered Pepsi�s so we didn�t look like drunks. It was a perfect pub. Nice wood flood and paneling, friendly staff. Plus it was just a couple of minutes from the place. Then the owner showed us the garden apartment and we were instantly impressed. It had a fairly large living room and kitchen with modern appliances and a fire place, two large bedrooms and a master bedroom with its own bathroom. The owner said we didn�t need to fill out an application because we looked like nice guys who could afford the place. He said simply put down a security deposit and first months rent and the place is ours. So we had to go back to robe girls house to pay the money. When we got there she was sill in her robe. She invited us in and introduced us to her pets and conversed with us for a while. She invited us to her summer BBQ. Finally, she took out the lease and X�d where we needed to sign and I was officially committed to living in the city. I can�t wait to join the club.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!