McDude's Kind of Cool

Everyone could use an Elaine Benes in their lives.

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-04-22 - 8:45 p.m.

I visited a friend for her birthday this weekend. I really wish I could hang out with her more. We have some of the best dialogue. She would be my Elaine Benes(Seinfeld) if we lived closer together. With her I can just think out loud, I can throw away any social filters and say what I really think. She doesn�t always agree but she never judges and usually improves on my thoughts. It is really something of beauty to have long dialogues about completely meaningless stuff and somehow compare it to the vast complexity of life.

She was my Ex-girlfriends roommate in college. Although I don�t talk to my ex at all I still keep in touch with her. We became close friends after my ex flunked out of school. We would always hook up for a lunch or supper and chat about our social lives; make cracks at are friends and poke fun at each other in good jest. Every now and then we would go out drinking together. The laughing and giggling was multiplied by 100 with a couple of drinks in us. She is always a good time. Nothing better then two cynics getting together with similar backgrounds. I should not try to define our formula for success other then we have one.

A while ago(over a year) someone asked me why we never hooked up. I was like I really don�t know. But for once I think I might have a decent answer or at least a good question to combat the initial question. Why mess up a good thing? I always thought she did not like me. I think she always thought I did not like her. But I think it is for the best we haven�t hooked up. Sex seems to mess up some things. I never thought I would say this but I now understand what it means to have someone who is attractive, of the opposite sex just as a friend. Although I think it is a rare occurrence to have someone just as a friend. This is the one instant in my life that I have really believed that. I doubt that it will ever happen again.

All of this being said she asked me this today, �Dude, Are you going to marry your girlfriend?�

For some reason this made me very uncomfortable. I really did not have a good yes or no answer. So I said, �That depends on what happens after she graduates.� A contemplative silence took place, then the conversation rolled on. The silence was a tad uncomfortable. Hmmmm. I wonder.

Before I left she said ,�Dude, Sometimes I am in awe of your genius.� I was so incredibly flattered. It was one of those rare genuine compliments that the only appropriate reaction was to blush.

I hated leaving I wish we would hang out again soon but somehow I doubt that we will get the chance to. This was the first time I had seen her since last October. I will probably see her sometime over the summer. She is looking into a job around where I live. It would be great to have her around. Everyone could use an Elaine Benes(Seinfeld) in their lives.

-Dude.

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!