McDude's Kind of Cool

the beauty of utility.

Previous --- Next

Old School

Support McDude

E-mail McDude

Sign My Book

Clix Me Here!

Design by
Not A LP Trixie


hosted by DiaryLand.com

2001-06-10 - 9:04 p.m.

It has been a year since I have moved here. I still feel brand new to the area. I guess you can�t call me the rookie, big city, McDude, anymore. Now I am in my second year and well experienced in the ways of city life. Yeah right! Now wherever I go I can say, �I lived in a big city once.� Moving to Montana sounds appealing right now.

I just read a beautiful article in Psychology Today. It was about how we as modern people of the 21st century are being bombarded with images of beauty. How that beauty is ruining so many lives. The article was everything I�ve thought about the subject and so much more. Now why couldn�t I have written those thoughts into written words? After reading the article I feel that my one goal in life is to get people to see the beauty in common things. Is it not true that someone with good conversation skills and a great sense of humor more attractive then someone who looks fabulous and knows it? They do not even need and personality and most do not bother trying to develop one. Beautiful people are evil. I plan to start a revolution so people can see the beauty in utility.

�Do you like sex, Mr. Lebowski? Sex. The physical act of love. Coitus. Do you like it?� Maude � The Big Lebowski.

The beauty that one gets bombarded with is much more then attractive women and men. It is excitement and adventure as well. The media bombards us with two types of people, the ones with the perfect lives and the ones who have hard lives but have just enough strength or faith to overcome their troubles.

On one hand we are bombarded by images of people with lots of money, perfect relationships, stars of basketball teams, people with extra ordinary abilities. I had an extra ordinary ability once. The rest of the people have tremendous strength by overcoming abuse, cancer, death of loved ones, mental illness, and bad parents. All we can do is sit watch and go to work the next day. We work out tan and bitch about everything because we are so much better then everything else. But deep down we feel we need some Prozac. All we really need to do is to stop comparing our lives to the lives on TV and in magazines. Or force them to portray the beauty of utility. I�ll make people see the beauty of utility.

�I like it too. It's a male myth about feminists that we hate sex. It can be a natural, zesty enterprise. But unfortunately there are some people--it is called satyriasis in men, nymphomania in women--who engage in it compulsively and without joy.� Maude � The Big Lebowski.

�Don�t judge a book by its cover dude. Read a chapter first.� - McDude

Previous --- Next

Like this entry? Vote for me here!